About Our Logo

Level 1

The SVR logo makes reference to the gay pride symbol – the rainbow colors – by using the same sequence of six primary and secondary colors. It affirms the diversity of the people who are a part of this movement. It speaks of unity. Each individual forms part of the whole, thereby highlighting the group’s strength.

Level 2

The logo, with its vertical, S-shaped bodies and “X" in the centre, has a subliminal connotation or implication – that of the multilingual word "SEX". The "S" figures are moving, dancing, intersecting, colliding, touching and coming together. They are all facing the same direction and are looking to the future. They share a common goal – the goal of freedom. The "X" makes reference to the taboos that still exist in our society, despite becoming less visible and rigid. Today, those who are not in the mainstream have become more widely accepted and socially integrated.

Level 3

The logo also evokes a feeling of sprouting, harvesting, reaping the benefits of past efforts. New values have been sewn, creating new insight into sexual choices. We are finally nearing the end of years of consciousness-raising work.

A short history of the rainbow symbol

Rainbow symbol designed in 1978 by Gilbert Baker.
Inaugurated in San Francisco the same year.
Became an international symbol of gay pride in 1990.
Adopted in Quebec the same year.
Prominent at gay pride festivities worldwide.
The colors were taken from the hippie movement, of which Baker was a part.
The primary goal of the symbol is the celebration of diversity and hope.
It is a declaration of strength and solidarity.

The flag was initially designed with eight colors. Over time, this was reduced to the six primary and secondary colors that are used today.

  • Red : life
  • Orange : reconciliation and healing
  • Yellow : sunlight and joie de vivre
  • Green : nature and hope
  • Blue : harmony and serenity
  • Violet : courage and spirit

(Reference: Fugues magazine, vol. 22, no. 5, August 2005)

Description de notre logo

Niveau 1

Fait référence au symbole gai, aux couleurs de l’arc-en-ciel, par la séquence des six couleurs primaires et secondaires. Affirme la diversité des personnes ayant en commun le mouvement. Parle d’unité. Les individus sont ensemble, rappelle la force du groupe.

Niveau 2

Les corps verticaux en forme de "S" et au centre un "X" suggèrent le mot multilingue "SEXE", en sous-entendu, en subliminal. Les "S" bougent, dansent, s'entrecroisent, se rencontrent, se touchent, s'unissent. Ils sont tournés vers la même direction, un même sens, ils regardent vers l'avenir. Ils ont le même but, la liberté. Le "X" fait référence aux tabous et aux interdits qui sont encore présents dans nos sociétés, même s'ils sont de moins en moins visibles et rigides qu'auparavant. Aujourd'hui, les marginaux sont mieux acceptés et intégrés socialement.

Niveau 3

On perçoit aussi une gerbe, la moisson, la récolte des efforts passés. Des nouvelles valeurs ont été semées, une nouvelle vision sur les choix sexuels. Nous arrivons enfin à un aboutissement d'années de travail de conscientisation.

Petit historique du symbole arc-en-ciel

Couleurs du symbole arc-en-ciel depuis 1978, créé par Gilbert Baker.
Inauguré à San Francisco la même année.
Devient un symbole international gai en 1990.
Est adopté au Québec la même année.
Identification omniprésente aux fêtes de la Fierté gaie.
Les couleurs sont empruntées au mouvement hippie dont faisait partie Baker.
La célébration de la diversité et de l’espoir est le but premier du symbole.
Il affirme la force et la solidarité.

Des huit couleurs de départ, avec le temps, les six couleurs primaires et secondaires subsistent.

  • Rouge : la vie
  • Orange : la réconciliation et la guérison
  • Jaune : la lumière du soleil et la joie de vivre
  • Vert : la nature et l’espérance
  • Bleu : l’harmonie et la sérénité
  • Violet : le courage et la spiritualité

(Référence : Fugues vol. 22, no5, août 2005)